Simply Lasagna

7 May

I have made this for many people in my family and it is my absolute favorite lasagna recipe. I got it from Kraft and it is easy and simply delicious.
Here are a few tips:

You can use low fat ricotta, cheeses and lean or extra lean ground beef to make this healthier. I use wal-mart brand oven ready lasagna noodles. I spray the foil with Pam cooking spray. I also use Prego garden combination spaghetti sauce. One it is lower in fat and two it has lots of veggies so my kids will eat it and not realize it is packed with veggies it also is the best tasting sauce to me without breaking the bank. I also add garlic salt when I am cooking my ground beef just to give it some more seasoning. I know this works because my friends husband is pretty picky about his food and he cleaned his plate of my spaghetti. My friend got my cooking tips for how I make it and that is it garlic salt in the meat and in the cooking of the pasta along with extra virgin olive oil and prego spaghetti sauce. Now back to the lasagna. I hope you enjoy and it is absolutely delicious and easy!

Simply Lasagana

Ingredients:

1 container of ricotta cheese (15 oz)

2 ½ cups of shredded mozzarella cheese

½ cup of fresh parmesan cheese

1 egg lightly beaten

1 jar of spaghetti sauce

1 1b of cooked ground beef

uncooked lasagna noodles (3-4 noodles per layer)

1 cup of water

Making the lasagna:

Preheat the oven on 350*

Mix ricotta cheese, 1 ¼ mozzarella cheese, ¼ parmesan cheese and egg until well blended

After ground beef is cooked, pour spaghetti sauce into the pan, pour 1 cup of water into spaghetti sauce jar and shake it up and add to meat sauce. (The meat sauce will be runny at first but the water helps the noodles to cook so the finished product will not be runny).

Add 1 cup of meat sauce to the bottom of the 13 X 9 inch pan (noodles will not stick by doing this step)

Add 3 lasagna noodles, 1/3 of the ricotta cheese mixture and meat sauce. Repeat 2 more times or until you run out of room. Top with remaining meat sauce.

Sprinkle remaining cheeses. Cover with greased foil and bake for 45 minutes or until cooked.

Remove foil and bake additional 15 minutes until bubbling. Let it cool for 15 minutes than serve.

Serves 12

