Generic Products

10 Jul

After speaking with Mr. Sewell, I remembered several other products grocery and others that we buy generic on. I buy Natural peanut butter for the girls so I use Kroger brand it is $1.99 compared to smuckers natural at $4 and some change. I also use Walmart squeeze jellies and Kroger jellies. My girls like them just as much and we cannot tell the difference. Those are usually $1.25-$1.50 compared to the $2-$3 brand name jellies. I also use generic chili seasoning at $.50 wal-mart brand compared to $1. and some change McCormick brand. I use generic hand soap. I also use generic Advil for us. I use gas meds for us and the girls that are wal-mart brand and it saves tons of money. The infant gas drops are now $11.88 or something like that and I can get the big bottle of wal-mart brand for $6.97. Some other products that I use that are generic are toilet paper, sandwich bags, garbage bags and aluminum foil.

We buy Office Depot brand printer ink cartridges and paper. They used to have a deal where you could trade in your old cartridges for a free ream of paper now you just get $2 off but every little bit helps.

Since the rising gas prices, I have also switched to generic BBQ sauce, Ketchup, mustard and oatmeal. For the items I simply want to buy brand name such as granola bars, cereals etc. I try to find coupons.  We also use Kroger brand microwave natural popcorn and it is delicious. My girls can have it because it does not have butter or milk products like some of the other brands.

I hope this helps you save a few extra pennies or even dollars. I have tried a lot of generics out there and some are better than others. I don’t buy Publix brand too often because they are so much higher than Kroger and Wal-mart even on generics. We also use generic prescriptions such as antibiotics, nose sprays,  creams and  other drugs from the pharmacy including cough drops. Our prescription card makes it cheaper plus in most cases where there is a generic they will not cover the brand name so you have to at least try it.

We have found it is the same. I think a lot of the brand named products make the generic brands too. Look at the recall on Sarah Lee bread a while back this also included publix bread too.  Cheaper is not always better. I check the ingredients on everything but if they are similar and there is a considerable price difference I will definitely buy generic.

