Kids and make-up

5 Nov

Our local news sends health reports out to me via email. I found this one interesting about kids and make-up making a dangerous combination. Please read article here. We do not allow Pookie to wear anything except lip gloss/chap stick. If you have ever looked at the back of the make-up under ingredients, this is why. There are so many chemicals and we did not feel comfortable with her using those things that can stain carpets going on her face or mouth.

I encourage you to do your own research but now I know why I got that yucky feeling whenever I looked at those Barbie make-up kits. Our children are exposed to enough chemicals why expose them to more. There really should be warning labels on these things.

Speaking of chemicals, with the recent research and upset on BPAs found in all sorts of plastics including baby bottles and sippy cups. Playtex and Munchkin now have BPA free sippy cups for older kids. You can find them at Kroger and Wal-mart. Wal-mart is anywhere from 4 to 10 cents cheaper.

