“How the GOP can get it’s groove back”

10 Nov

This is the title from a friend’s post, goldfishandclowns.com. I thought it was a great post so read here and my comments are below as I had something to add.

My comments to his post:

I agree! We need fresh, pure and bold people stepping up for the GOP. They are thinking of replacing the RNC with Newt Gingrich. I like him. I would like to see him in that role changing things. We need a new game plan. We also need to be praying for President Elect Obama that he makes great decisions for this country. God can change his heart if we are all praying for him. We also need to be in prayer about his cabinet decisions that he makes wise and godly decisions. There are many things that concern me but I am not in prayer instead of criticizing his every decision. God worked on me.

I still feel there are some journalist out there waiting for Obama to fail. This is the wrong attitude. I know I just had a God moment on Saturday. They are still bringing up all of this stuff. Yes, we need to be alert, but we need to pray for his success and that God is in every decision. Ultimately if he fails we all fail and that could mean horrific consequences for the USA.

Mike Huckabee is coming to our church. Something I loved about him is he connects with people no matter where the stand on the issues. He will be bold but he also is respectful and listens to to them. He also speaks about helping the poor and on the moral issues. We need to do the same. We need to be discussing abortion, gay marriage etc but also add the social justice issues such as poverty and health care. We only deal with the one side from each party. We need to come together because it says in the Bible we need righteousness and justice. This may stir up some people to take another look at the GOP if we were talking about both of these things especially because the new breed of young voters even Christians are going more for the social justice issues and environment.

Finally, we need to stop stabbing each other in the back and move on. The election is over lets regroup and get it together. A house divided will fall and it did for the GOP. Pick it back up and unify yourselves. We also need to be unified as a country or the USA will fail also. We have been divided for a long time. Lets be the United States of America not he divided states of America!

One Response to ““How the GOP can get it’s groove back””

  1. Karen Kelley November 10, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    I agree. Once I was out of my doom and gloom funk last Wednesday I realized that we need to be more involved in the process. So, that is what I am trying to figure out now. How to get involved, at what level, on what issues….

Comments are closed.

