A toddler and a cold

11 Nov

I guess it is that time of year. Peanut who is two has a fever and cold. She did not take a nap and she woke up at three this morning. She is in a good mood though and she is eating ok. She goes back to the doctor for an iron re-check so I will kill two birds with one stone and have her checked out. I thought Pookie was getting a cold but she is fine. I have a vaporizer in both girls rooms and the steam seems to help. I usually give a little Tylenol or Motrin before bed to help with a scratchy throat and fever. I also give lots of fluids especially orange juice to give that extra boost of Vitamin C.  I pray over my girls every night and that makes all the difference in the world! A little TLC never hurts either.

On taking them to the doctor, if her fever goes to 101 or higher it is an automatic for me but if it stays at 100 or lower it is a wait and see. Usually if it is just a cold the fever will be gone in several days. If she starts pulling at her ears or not eating and she is really fussy that is also an automatic fever or not. If she is still snuffly but no fever I will give it about two weeks. If it goes past that, it has typically turned into a sinus infection so off to the doctor we go.

I actually think she has allergy. She is sneezing with watery eyes and a slight fever. Benadryl knocked the sneezing out. It is a wait and see game.

It was really chilly today. It was supposed to be in the mid 60s but it was cloudy so I don’t know if it even got out of the 50s. I love this time of year with the leaves changing and the chill in the air.

