Rick Warren

12 Nov

I saw Pastor Rick Warren from Saddle Back Church on Hannity and Colms last night. He had various things he discussed. One was on the redistribution of wealth. He thought government should not take any income tax and let people give it themselves to charity so they are getting the character development along with the giving aspect. He said when the government takes your money and gives it to others you lose that ability to receive character development because you are not part of the process. I agree! We do give to our church for tithe, missions and offerings to the poor. What we cannot give in money, we donate the girls toys and clothes that they do not play with or wear anymore. I realize the average American does not do this but it feels great to give back. To know you are helping someone or something greater than yourself.

He said both Barack Obama and John McCain are as different as night and day, but both terrific guys.

His take on why the election was lost for John McCain was the economy. He also said that the RNC just did not deal with the bread and butter issues that people were facing today. He does not think the moral issues that many evangelicals think about are gone for good. He said it is still on their hearts and in their minds but the bread and butter issues is what won this election. He said, “when 401K is 201K we have a problem.” This is so true but funny the way he said it.

Colms asked him about a church member that was extremely offended because he was endorsing Prop 8 and she was a lesbian. He said, ” I love everyone and I respect everyone but I am not in favor of redefining marriage.”

It was neat to hear his take on all of these issues. It is rumored that he is one of several spiritual advisors to Barack Obama. TD Jakes is another name mentioned. This made me feel a little more at ease when I heard this. I respect both of these pastors. I know they are mighty men of God.

One Response to “Rick Warren”

  1. dee2rites November 13, 2008 at 7:26 am #

    I had not heard that Pastors Rick Warren and TD Jakes were possibly going to be some of the spiritual advisors to Barack Obama. That gives me hope. If he listens to them, he will be receiving sound advise because I too believe these are godly men.

    Dee

Comments are closed.

