Tightening of the belt

13 Nov

I was pondering the thought of thinking more economically this year with regards to the the holidays. My friend and I were discussing this very topic and she said that normally when she hosts Thanksgiving or Christmas she will buy pre-made or cooked items so she is not in the kitchen all day. She was adding that up and it was going to be expensive so she decided that gravy from a packet which is $0 .34 cents is better than a small jar of pre-made gravy for almost $3.00. She also is making mashed potatoes from scratch. She said at Kroger they had buy one get one on bags of potatoes and that was more in line with her budget than the pre-made potatoes. Everyone is tightening the belt this year.

I also heard a mom that was interviewed on our local news station say she was urging her family and friends that were buying gifts for her children to buy more practical things such as clothes and shoes instead of toys they do not need. She said, “it helps me out too.”

It is a sad state of the economy when we have to ask for more practical items then toys for our children. We have always been fairly practical and I am trying to get them things I think they will enjoy but much more economical this year. I have been searching the ads and looking for deals. Target so far has been the best. I am sure Wal-mart will be up there too. You can get nice things without breaking the bank!

2 Responses to “Tightening of the belt”

  1. faemom November 14, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    I know! I’ve been messing around with our Christmas budget for a week now. I’ve been scouring the stores online. But some good news, there’s suppose to be a price war on toys this year. Horrah! And a hopefully helpful tip, since we have tons of little cousins, I bought them books in the bargain section of Borders and Barnes and Noble. You’ll be surprised what cool books they have.

  2. Karen Kelley November 16, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    Do you get the Black Friday ads emails? I can’t remember if I sent you the info on that or not – but they track the sales (the early ones going on now and the Black Friday sales) and send out emails several times a week.

    We are trying to stick to getting each child something they want, something they need, something to play, something to read and something to wear. We’ll see how that works out.

Comments are closed.

