Divorce

30 Dec

So I had a conversation with a dear friend today whose husband walked out shortly after their 9th wedding anniversary. He is all better now and living on his own and wants a divorce at some point. He thought about filing for  it right before Christmas but said the kids would not get Christmas due to the expense. How noble of him to wait!

I just don’t know how anyone can just walk out on their family. I had one word for my friend he selfish. He left for himself, he was not happy, he is healing now and does not want to go back to the past. It is all about him.

What about marriage vows?  What about the covenant you make with that other person to look after them and honor them.

I pray she gets blessing upon blessing in her life. She is such a giving and wonderful person and she deserves so much more. I just don’t understand how someone can disregard those vows and look out only for themselves. He has disregarded his wife, and children. I am baffled by the whole thing. I cannot even imagine what my friend is dealing with. Sometimes I just want to slap this guy upside the head.

She told me that God has really helped her through this and we were both commenting we do not know where we would be without him. When the crisis of this world come He not man is our only hope. I firmly believe that I would not be in this life if not for God. I was so devestated by the loss of my father that I wanted to die. I knew though God had a plan for my life. My friend knows no matter how painful this loss that God has a plan for her life and her children. You would like to know that included your spouse but she knows with or without him she was given life for a reason!

3 Responses to “Divorce”

  1. OHmommy December 30, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    Oh gosh. I had a similar thing happen to my good friend last year. I do believe it to be a little selfish too.

  2. Karen Kelley January 1, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Been there, done that.

    At the time I could never have imagined my life the way it is now but God had a plan. A awesome plan :-).

  3. dee2rites January 3, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    You are so correct in calling him selfish.
    What people who walk out of their marriages because their wife (or husband) doesn’t make them happy don’t understand is that it is not the responsibility of their spouse to make them happy. They usually are still unhappy after leaving the marriage.
    Good for her that she’s trusting in God to take care of her.

Comments are closed.

