Fruits and Veggies

6 Jan

Ok Husband and I are really motivated to lose the weight this year. We started before the first of January and Husband has lost 9 lbs and I have lost 3. He is walking a mile everyday and I was walking until I got a double ear infection and sinus infection. Once I am feeling better it will back to the walking for me. I love it. We are eating mostly fruits and veggies. Lots of fresh fruits and veggies and walnuts (just a small handful a day) they have omega 3 fatty acids which are great nutrients for the brain and body. I have cut us down to read meat twice a month instead of several times a week and we have gotten rid of most of our snack items. I still buy pretzels and cereal bars for the girls but that is it. Fruits and veggies for them to snack on too. Even Pookie likes eating Walnuts in the morning with her cereal or oatmeal. 2009 is our year to be healthy and wise with our bodies.

Oh, yeah the real kicker is we are taking a 30 day break from sweets. A biggie for me the chocolate lover. It is hard but once you start putting the good things back into your body you really don’t crave those sugary snacks.

2 Responses to “Fruits and Veggies”

  1. Tina January 7, 2009 at 12:31 am #

    Here is to a healthy new year! I pray you both do great in your weight loss endeavors. It sounds like you are off to an excellent start!

  2. faemom January 9, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    I just read this! You’re a brave woman. I could not take 30 days away from sweets; some one would be hurt.

Comments are closed.

