Chronic sinus infections

22 Feb

Since July of last year, Peanut has been struggling with chronic sinus infections. It has gotten to the point that it takes two, three and even four antibiotics to get rid of these infections. We have been referred to an allergist for whom she is going to have skin testing and possibly a blood panel to check for auto immune diseases. The next step is to go to an ENT to see if her adenoids are enlarged. This would explain why she is chronically sick with these infections. If they are enlarged you just keep getting infections by your own body due to bacteria build up in the enlarged area. It has no place to get relief. Pookie had this and once hers were removed she has not had near the sinus infections as she once did. I just want to my little girl to be ok. She has hardly known a life in the recent months without a 101 fever or massive amounts of Motrin and Tylenol or even the constant nose and face pain. She hardly sleeps anymore and we are all very tired. Please keep my little peanut in your prayers. She normally is a very well adjusted, playful child and this is all a lot to bear. I have decided to fight instead of continuing to accept this. I am praying for her every chance I get and I have faith that she will walk free from these chronic infections. I am writing this not as a complaint and “woe is me” but to help others who may be going through similar situations. It is so hard to see your little one sick especially with chronic illnesses that seem to have no answers at this point. Thank you for all your prayers.

Keep pressing your pediatricians. I had a great conversation with ours yesterday. She is actually quite concerned but the possible scenarios I just listed above us a start. She also answered my question about why Peanut keeps testing positive for viral infections when truly she has a chronic sinus infection. When it is chronic infection such as this, the blood test is actually inaccurate. She has not been picking up new infections or germs but continuing to have the same infection she just cannot shake.

Update: I wrote another post on Thursday-Friday (April 9th). Some of these infections are sinus infections but they are starting out and continuing as a chronic adenoid infection. Peanut tested negative to several auto immune deficienies and to allergies. This is a relief.  She is having her adenoids removed at the end of this month. If you want more info on this, check out my adenoiditis post.

One Response to “Chronic sinus infections”

  1. dee2rites February 23, 2009 at 8:56 am #

    I’m praying for you and your little one. Having raised 2 kids, and now having 2 plus one more on the way grandchildren, I know about having to stand in faith for your children. And I’ve had God answer my prayers more times than I can count. We know He is always faithful to his Word and the Word says that by Jesus stripes, we are healed.
    Bless you and your household.
    Dee

Comments are closed.

