Sex

9 Apr

Ok so now here is a topic I never discuss.  I personally think this is something you should keep between your spouse in my case or partner. I think this is a private matter. However, the reason I am bringing this up is I saw on Oprah a doctor, I think, discussing how you should talk to your child and teen about sex. I thought ok this may be good. Big shock once she got past talking to the 10 year old. She started talking about “self pleasuring” and “sex toys.” I am sorry but I am not discussing these kinds of things with my daughters. I am with  Gail, kids and teens today know way to much and are doing to much. I am all for educating my children on the issue of sex and puberty when that time comes. I totally disagree with teaching your children about these things. Education is key in keeping them safe and making wise decisions.  I can see that Oprah will probably get tons of letters on this issue. You could even see the older teen girls cringe in their seats when she was discussing these things. I actually turned it off.

When Pookie has questions, I want to answer them. I already have answered some of her questions about puberty and body changes because she notices that my body isn’t exactly like hers but I kept it brief and in terms she could understand. She knows that our bodies will go through changes as we get older. I don’t want her to be afraid of those changes like I was. I had no clue what was going on with my body. I was 8 when I first started developing. I had no explanation other than this happens. Why?

I vowed that day if I had daughters I would teach them.  I want our relationship to be as open as possible. I want her and  peanut to come to me for answers, but I think it crosses the line when you start teaching them about sex toys, how to reach orgasm, and pleasuring yourself. In Oprah’s words, “this is very controversial.” I would agree!

2 Responses to “Sex”

  1. chestera April 9, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    I agree with your stance. I have two daughters, now in their teens, and my wife had “the talk” with them when they were younger and when they reached puberty. It was always “age-appropriate”, of course, but never like what you described from Oprah.
    Kudos to you for turning if off.

  2. mommynotes April 9, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

    Thanks for your note. You could see these teen girls just cringing at what this lady was saying. I think Oprah was even blushing. I had just never heard of teaching children and teens in this way before and thought it was way over the top. I definitely think education is key at age appropriate levels but what she was describing was outrageous to say the least.

Comments are closed.

