Faith

21 Apr

I was really discouraged last week. We were finally getting ahead just a bit and news came that husbands company had higher insurance premiums which meant more would come out of his check. It was going to be a total of $70 more a month. Things were already tight enough as it is this was going to make things even tighter.  This was very discouraging. I was praying on Sunday before church and I asked God “please let the pastor preach on faith.”  I need encouragement God. We got to church and I opened up the sermon notes. The message was on faith. It was titled “Faith Is.” Oh my heart leaped with joy and encouragement!

I opened up my face book page and a pastor friend had written a post on faith. I received my daily devotion for today and it was on faith. I know God is speaking to me and it is so encouraging!

I hope this encourages you when you get down and see no end in site that God is truly there with you.  He is listening even when it seems he is not.

Here are my notes on Faith Is:

Without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe he rewards those who earnestly seek Him. Hebrews 11:6

Faith is….

1. Believing when you do not see it. (vs 1)

2. Obeying when I do not understand it. (vs 8)

3. Giving when I don’t have it. (vs 4)

4. Persevering when I don’t feel like it. (vs 27)

5. Expecting before I receive it. (vs 30)

6. Trusting when I don’t receive it. (vs 39)

2 Corinthians 8:2-3  Out of extreme poverty welled up in a rich generosity. They gave as much as they were able and even beyond their ability.

Hebrews 11:1  Now faith is the being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

Hebrews 11:27  It was faith that led to Moses leaving despite the Kings anger. He held is purpose like a man who could see the invisible.

You have to keep going even when you don’t want to. Quitting is not an option. Run the race of endurance!

Hebrews 11:30, Matthew 21:22  When you pray, ask God for something and believe that you have received it. And you will be given what you have asked for.

Lean not on your own understanding. This point really struck me because I  thought I had heard something from God then it did not come to pass. I would beat up on myself. Here sometimes God won’t answer your prayers because it is not what he has for you. He has something better, or the timing may be off.

Hebrews 11:39  Understanding they were commended for their faith; yet of them that received what they had been promised God had planned something better.

It could be what we are asking for is the wrong thing and not the best for us. God has something better and we need to stay in constant communication with him.

This message was awesome! I needed to hear this. It gave me hope and peace. I hope it also encourages you!


