Miss California

21 Apr

I know this is a hot topic making headlines everywhere but I had to give my opinion on this one. I applaud Miss California for sticking to her guns and giving an honest answer. I think she could have said it a little better but the fact she stayed true to who she is, is note worthy. I think judges who have an agenda should leave it at the door. It is one thing to mark her down for her answer but to call her a derogatory name and bash her the way Perez did on his blog is absurd.

I am so sick of you must be politically correct and not true to who you are.  As you will see in this link, our own President said he believed marriage is between a man and a woman.

Miss California said to Matt Lauer, ” I wasn’t politically correct, I was Biblically correct.”  She went on to say this was a test for her. No matter what the cost she was standing up for her principles and beliefs. It cost her the Miss USA crown but God has something so much bigger then this.

I believe she is a role model whether you agree with gay marriage or not. I say this because I want my children to stand up for their beliefs no matter what situation you are in. What is the point of believing in something if you are going to lie when you are questioned about it.

I don’t want a Miss USA who is a political robot. We have enough of those in Washington. I want Miss USA to believe in what she is saying. I think it is disingenuous to think otherwise!

4 Responses to “Miss California”

  1. Kate April 21, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    I’m actually FOR same-sex marriage, so it may surprise you to hear that I too applaud Miss California for speaking honestly. I may not agree with her views, but I DO agree with her attitude of staying true to her beliefs, and not compromising them to avoid controversy. She didn’t deserve the meanness thrown at her afterwards.

  2. sole4sail April 21, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    It cost her the crown?
    What? Her incoherent response or which side of the argument she’s on?
    You honestly believe the cause-and-effect at play here is that, if she’d said she was in favor of equality, she’d have won?
    That’s bad logic.

  3. WarriorFan33 April 22, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    A question that controversial should not be allowed. This country was founded on the freedom of speech but apparently the gay community thinks that should only apply to them and no one else. I thought her answer was excellent. After viewing prerez’s rebuttal in the video, I have to say he lost what little credibility he had.
    Shamefull and very immature

  4. mommynotes April 22, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    Thanks for commenting! I totally agree. I don’t know if this is true because I did not watch the pageant but I heard some ladies were asked what their ideal man was. How absurd! Most of these women are extremely intelligent. He clearly had an agenda. Comparing this loaded question to Miss North Carolina who was asked about the bail out is outlandish too. Either everyone should have the same question or these type questions should be banned. Instead of getting their opinions on such hot topics maybe ask what they would do if their were crowned Miss USA. What is their platform they are running on. Every contestant I believe has to have a cause. This would be more accurate to judge. You could then really see the passion of the each contestant. Just a suggestion for the next pageant.

Comments are closed.

