Money saving deals

21 May

This month with all the birthdays, mother’s day and extra doctor bills we are on a very limited grocery budget. God totally provided. Kroger had some awesome deals such as $1.99 a lb chicken, tooth paste for $1 then I had a $1 coupon so it was free. They had name brand deodorant marked down to $1. Their own brand of cereals are actually cheaper than Wal-mart and the cereals taste good. We got a box of cereal for $1.77. It tastes just like the brand name ones. Wal-mart had their brand for $2.98.  I also buy store brand oatmeal for my girls. They eat it every morning for breakfast. It is $1.94 at Kroger and Wal-mart. Kroger has also marked their bread down from $1.69 to $1.49 also cheaper than Wal-mart. Right now we switched to store brand peanut butter and saved some money. The fruits, veggies and lunch meat I wanted were on sale. I bought Kroger eggs for $0.88 cents a dozen. I usually like Egg lands Best but they have gone way up in price so this time I bought store brand. This is also cheaper than Wal-mart. Kroger had their 100% juice on sale for $1.69 and their Nutra Grain bars were $2.15 as opposed to Wal-mart for $2.50.

I support those who are doing their part to help lower prices during these hard economic times. We also switched to Kroger Gas. We used to only use Chevron because we had a gas card but for no reason at all they lowered our limit to $140. They deduct money out of our account so we always pay on time and have no balance on our card. I guess with people defaulting on their payments we all suffrer. Anyway the final straw was my card was declined on Mother’s day because they had not taken the payment out yet and it was close to the new limit they set. It put me in a bind to take money out of our account that had not been budgeted for, so I pulled some cash from our savings to give us a cushion and we will no longer be using Chevron or their card. I take my business else where when we have been excellent customers for over 10 years and you just lower out limit with no warning. We are saving money in the process.

I encourage you to shop around, clip coupons and I will continue passing on these great deals.

