President Obama speaking to school children on September 8th

3 Sep

UPDATE: I had to take my oldest to have some lab work done ordered by her doctor so she did not attend school today but we did watch the speech together.  I told my daughter we may not agree with the President but we need to respect his position.  The only thing she said was I remember him from January. I explained, “Yes, you saw him at school for the inauguration.” She asked what that was and I explained. She also liked the music they played the end and remembered we heard it on the fourth of July. This is about all she said. We had a nice discussion. I only wish this could have been done in the evening so other parents could have had the same opportunity.   It was a good speech. It was the afterward I did not care for!

I heard about this yesterday.  Our school is sending home an opt out letter. Some schools in our area are not showing it and some did not send the option of an opt out letter.

I did read the speech which I posted earlier but I found this comment posted on Michelle Malkin’s website quite interesting.

Here is an article written by Newt Gingrich’s daughter. I thought this was really good too!

According to the white house website, the speech starts at 12 PM EST.

Hot off the presses here is the text from President Obama’s much anticipated speech.

Here are the much anticipated worksheets that are given to the teachers. This looks like an all day event, good grief!

Pajama’s TV posted a really good article written from a mom on this very topic.

Michelle Malkin has a neat article on how you can approach your child’s school and have an opt out choice.

They have tweeked the worksheets and they will be putting the speech online for parents, students and teachers to preview Monday, Sept 7th!

9 Responses to “President Obama speaking to school children on September 8th”

  1. Ben Hoffman September 3, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    So you’re saying it was wrong when George H.W. Bush did it?

    Obama is a dynamic speaker and may motivate children to study hard and go on to higher education. Of course, critical thinking is a right-winger’s worst enemy.

  2. stshores24 September 3, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    George H.W. Bush did not do this.

    Previous Presidents were well-respected, but not worshiped. Entire curriculums are being formed around this man.

    This is not simply a man. This is a god, and we will not bow down.

  3. OHmommy September 4, 2009 at 9:59 pm #

    Our public school district will not be showing the speech.

  4. Ben Hoffman September 5, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    Sounds like you’re a good little follower of your god Glenn Beck. Do as your told. Be afraid. Be angry. Don’t think critically. Don’t seek out facts. Just follow blindly like good little sheep.

    Bleh.

  5. stshores24 September 5, 2009 at 5:14 am #

    @Ben Ever occurred to you that just because we probably have the opposite opinion of yours, doesn’t mean that we are stupid? Go enjoy your self-delusion and leave those of us with conviction alone.

  6. mommynotes September 5, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    Actually, Ben, I do not watch Glenn Beck! I think for myself. I did seek out facts by going to the White House web site and viewing the lesson plan. I will also be going there to view the speech on Monday.

    I do not fear Obama or opposing view points. My point was that I think it is inappropriate for a President or anyone else to interrupt a school day with a 20 minute speech that includes a lesson plan. I oppose the idea of Reagan giving a speech on taxes to school children. This is not appropriate when our teachers already complain about not having enough time for academics.

    Ben, I love it that any time someone comes along with an opposing view point, you have to reduce yourself to name calling! Come on God, made us all, and we may not agree, but let’s respect each other!

  7. Shara September 5, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    i wasn’t given an opt out option so my kids won’t be going to school on tuesday

  8. Pattie September 5, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    Okay, here’s a comment with an opposing view that won’t be doing any name-calling. I keep hearing this comment, “and discussion that has nothing to do with reading, writing or math.” I’m just wondering–when your kids are required by the state to study history and government/civics, do you voice the same objection? Cuz I sure know how important history and government were to my education.

    Unfortunately those things apparently don’t get too much attention in school these days, though. I could be wrong, but I sure run into a lot of people who have no clue about the functions of our three branches of government. In fact, I see ’em on the news channels all the time. Having the President address the kids sure opens a great opportunity for some real lessons that might change that.

  9. mommynotes September 6, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    I actually agree with you Pattie! I don’t think they do teach much history in US. I heard a sobering statistic that a majority of HS students fail the graduation test on this very issue. I was fortunate enough to go to a private school so we actually learned so much on branches of government and how a bill becomes a law and presidents past and present. State history as well as world history. Those were some of my favorite subjects and I will be teaching my girls all about it whether the school does or not.

    Tomorrow they are supposed to put the speech online for parents, students and teachers to view so I will be viewing it and we’ll see what is going to be said. I still have an issue with the worksheets not the speech itself.

Comments are closed.

