The Flood

24 Sep

For two weeks it rained, and rained and rained. The sunshine was no where to be found. This did not mean to much until Sunday night when the bottom fell out but not just for a few minutes it was hours it rained and the lightening was so bad none of us could sleep. So we were all up all night long praying and hoping it would pass. Finally, at 5 AM it did and I fell fast asleep. I found out at 8:30 that schools were delayed then cancelled due to the flooding conditions in our area. My 7 year old slept until 9:30. It was unreal. I have lived here all my life and I have never seen anything like this. It rained all day Monday and stormed then our power finally went out. I realized when my 3 year old was cranky that she had a 103 temp. I started to panic because the roads around here were closed and our power was out and it was pouring rain. I cried out to God. I gave her tylenol and motrin and finally the fever started to come down. Our power came back on and I watched her through the night. The next day I made my way over to our pediatricians office through many round about ways and after waiting a long time found out my baby had an ear infection. This is our story but so many people lost their homes or cars or their life. It was very sad and eye opening at the same time. My heart and prayers go out to all those who lost something whether it was their home or their life.  The Flood of 2009 in Georgia will not be forgotten.

