Why I switched my girls to rice milk

6 May

I get emails from green health spot. Dr. Wang is a naturopathic doctor who  treats patients with chronic illnesses as well as autistic children and children with ADD/ADHD just to name a few. She wrote a post on “Is Soy Making You Fat? ” As I read the article, I began to get concerned. It is linked to such conditions as Thyroid disease and stunted growth. My girls have had soy milk since they were one. Now my girls are tall but I know for a fact that my daughter Hannah has some kind of issues with her hemoglobin that no one can figure out. She is between 9.8 and 10.5 depending on if she is sick. It should be 12-13. She used to drink a ton of soy milk until she started getting UTIs and I only allow her one cup a day. I am no wondering does this have something to do with her levels.

I know people who only ate soy and could not conceive. Soy is linked to infertility. They were told to stop consuming soy, and once they did they got pregnant.

So I had to ask myself, do I really want my daugthers drinking what I thought was a healthy alternative to milk? NO!

On my quest for a soy and milk alternative I found Rice Dream milk. It is cheaper than the soy and easier to find. My oldest cannot have anything with carrogeenan in it and most of the rice, almond and soy does. I found one that did not and now Rice Dream does not.  I can get this at Walmart for $2.32 for  a half gallon. This is going to save us money too. We were paying $2.79 for a quart of Eden Soy Milk. We went through six of those a week. I love saving money and being healthy at the same time. Also rice milk does not have a strong taste so my girls really do not notice the difference. I think they even make it in chocolate so this will thrill my youngest one!

One of the most troubling things was the

  • “High levels of phytic acid in soy reduce assimilation of calcium, magnesium, copper, iron and zinc. Phytic acid in soy is not neutralized by ordinary preparation methods such as soaking, sprouting and long, slow cooking. High phytate diets have caused growth problems in children.” Dr. Wang

We try so hard to make sure they are getting enough of these things especially calcium and to think I could be giving my girls something that interferes with that absorption is very troubling to me.

I have several friends that said their doctors told them to stay away from soy and suggested almond milk. Milk is great too if you can tolerate it!

Here is Dr.Wang’s post on soy. It is a great post!

