Scoliosis an unexpected diagnosis

27 May

I took my oldest daughter to her 8 year check up and after chatting with the doctor she did the scoliosis test. I knew she passed it last year so I was not concerned. She said, “it looks like she does have a curved spine.” She redid the test and yes she did. I held it together until this afternoon and I cried. My beautiful tall 8 year old girl has this spine disease. What does this mean? What is the treatment? All these questions filled my head. I took her to our local hospital and had back x-rays so they see whether it is severe or mild. My grandmother said she thought she had this as a child. She has arthritis which can occur in the spine if left untreated. Prayerfully we caught this early. She has a wonderful pediatrician that is very thorough. She thought this was a mild case and there was nothing to worry about. This gave me comfort but still this is my baby and you never want to know there is anything wrong with your child. I did the mommy blame game. Did I cause this or not feed her something she should have. The answer is NO. It is hereditary but nothing I did personally caused this. Anyway this is our journey. Make sure your doctor checks your children especially girls at age 7-8 and continues each year. It is common and if caught early gives them a better chance at a normal life without pain.

