“Is Puberty In Girls Coming Too Soon?”

10 Aug

I saw this report on ABC World News last night. I was one of those girls that started getting breasts at 8 and started my period at 9. I never wanted that to happen to my daughters. I understand what they are saying about obesity triggering estrogen and this makes sense. I also understand they are looking at environmental factors as well but what about all the hormones that are in our chicken, eggs, milk, cheese, yogurt and beef? They did not even mention this on the news last night. Is it because we are in bed so to speak with the dairy and beef industry this is a taboo subject. I purposefully by eggs, and chicken with no hormones or antibiotics. We do not eat too much beef and my girls cannot have dairy.  Other than the body odor that started at age 6, my oldest has absolutely no signs of puberty and she is 8 and I am so forever thankful. I am glad they did this study but they need to address food and hormones as well as the other things they have suggested.

