My kids have the flu for Thanksgiving 2010

23 Nov

As if this month could be bad enough my 8 year old started running a 102 temp late Saturday night. I was able to get her temp down with Ibuprofen. I figured she had strep. Her only complaints were throat and head. Her temp did not go above 102 and she did not have the usual flu symptoms. I took her to the pediatricians office on Monday and they ruled out strep. He thought she may have another sinus infection however I questioned him on the medicine since she just got over one. He decided to check her for flu and sure enough she tested positive for type B. My girls have never had the flu before until now. When I got home my youngest was running a low grade temp. Fortunately my peds gave me tamiflu for both of the girls. My youngest is considered high risk because she was diagnosed with asthma. So far so good, they seem to have a very mild case.  Most of the cases I have heard about this kids are really bad off so thank you God that my girls were spared.

This month was already horrible but for my girls to get the flu before Thanksgiving thats just icing on an already crappy cake.

I do think they will be better by turkey day though and for that I can be very thankful!

