Different Learning Styles

8 Feb

Throughout my daughters life I had preschool teachers and elementary school teachers talk to me about issues with her. They would say, ” we think she has a hearing problem.” I found she was perfectly fine. Her hearing was tested and it was perfect. I heard this for two years of PS.

In kindergarten pookie did not adjust well. She was brought up to SST. Her teachers were baffled because she could read on these high levels but could not  tell you what she read. She would answer these hard questions that no one else knew but not stay focused, follow basic everyday instructions or finish her work. By the middle of the year with much prayer,  she was improving.

She went on to first grade with some minor issues that seemed to get better when we removed her from her allergy meds. Second grade went smooth except for all the teachers referencing how quiet she was. They would actually put talkative kids near her so she would have no choice but to talk. They would even be excited if she got a check mark for talking because she was that quiet.

Third grade she is doing well but at her fall conference she asked me again did pookie have a hearing issue. I said she was just tested twice and both times came out perfect so I said no. We have continued to work with her. The other day her teacher wrote the most bizarre note.  It said, “I don’t think pookie takes in anything audibly but she is one smart cookie.” At her conference she said Pookie does not follow basic everyday instruction and has to be reminded quite often. However on her test scores, answers, etc she is at the top of the class. She is actually being tested for the gifted program right now.

I spoke with a teacher friend of mine that happens to teach gifted and she said Pookie is classic textbook gifted child. Their brains are so full of ideas that they cannot focus in on everyday simple multistep directions. This is so true. I used to get upset with her for not following directions I had given her. With this information I am trying to be more patient. Following directions is a life skill so for pookie whether gifted or not we just have to work harder at achieving it.

All of our brains work different and learning that different people learn in different ways is so vitally important. Thank God for her teacher that pressed in on this issue and discussed it with me instead of labeling her incorrectly. It really is an issue of how she learns. Her teacher has her right up front, written down basic directions and is going to get her classmates to help remind her of basic everyday multi step directions.

As always I share this information for those who may be in similar situations with their kiddos or if you have a child like this and would like to share your tips and ideas for what worked please share.

