Auditory Processing Disorder or something like that

19 Aug

I had a meeting with my oldest daughter’s school. She has difficulty following multistep directions which is reflected in her math scores. Her grades are straight As so she may not have APD but she has symptoms of it. Her school has come up with a plan to get her to advocate for herself and follow threw on directions. As of now her learning has not been affected but I do get concerned as she gets older. Parents I say this all the time you have to be observant of your kids and reach out and ask for help. I can have her tested for confirmation of this disorder but they are doing what they would do to help her whether she has this or not so I’m going to wait. Our doctor said it usually isn’t covered by insurance and is rather costly. We are racking up bills for PT so this will have to wait. Know if your child has this or issues with following multi-step directions that they are still smart and creative and talented. They just have to work extra hard to follow threw with routines. I am thankful she is grasping her materials at school and she has phenomenal teachers.

